2020 Mazda3 Earns Top Safety Ratings

The 2020 Mazda3 is a classy compact car that does not cut corners. Not a one. The Mazda3 delivers on style, performance, and safety to provide drivers a premium drive experience that rivals vehicles even outside its segment. 

Recently, the Mazda3 earned the NHTSA 5-Star Safety Rating and the IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK PLUS award, further emphasizing Mazda’s incredible ability to focus on getting everything just right. Let’s take a look at what these safety ratings mean and the Mazda3’s safety features that made it all possible.

What are NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings?

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) 5-Star Safety Ratings are designed to help drivers make informed decisions about vehicle safety when shopping for a new car. In short, more stars mean safer cars, and the Mazda3 gets all five stars.

How are NHTSA 5-Star Safety Ratings determined?

The NHTSA conducts frontal, side, and rollover tests to determine a vehicle’s crashworthiness. These types of tests are performed because frontal, side, and rollover crashes make up the majority of crashes on America’s roads.

What does crashworthiness mean?

Crashworthiness is the degree to which a vehicle will protect its occupants from the effects of an accident.


The Insurance Institute for Highway’s (IIHS) TOP SAFETY PICK PLUS award is given to vehicles that perform the best in all their evaluations.

How are IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK PLUS awards determined?

Similar to the NHTSA tests, the IIHS has a set criteria for a how a vehicle must perform, and the marks it must obtain, in order to earn the TSP+ ranking. To earn the TSP+ ranking for the 2020 model year, a vehicle must receive:
– Good ratings in the driver-side small overlap front, passenger-side small overlap front, moderate overlap front, side, roof strength and head restraint tests.

  • Advanced or superior ratings for available front crash prevention — vehicle-to-vehicle and vehicle-to-pedestrian evaluations.
  • Acceptable or good headlights come standard

How did the Mazda3 earn such top marks?

Well, it’s a Mazda and that means safety comes standard. Both the 2020 Mazda3 sedan and hatchback models are equipped with all the crash avoidance technologies recommended by NHTSA, which includes:

  • Forward collision warning
  • Lane departure warning
  • Crash imminent braking
  • Dynamic brake support

Mazda’s i-ACTIVSENSE® standard safety systems include: 

  • Smart Brake Support
  • Mazda Radar Cruise Control with Stop & Go
  • Blind Spot Monitoring
  • Rear Cross Traffic Alert
  • Lane Departure Warning
  • Lane Keep Assist
  • Driver Attention Alert

In addition to the above standard features, Mazda i-ACTIVSENSE® also includes standard:

  • Automatic on/off LED headlights
  • High Beam Control
  • Rain-sensing windshield wipers

For more information on the new features in the 2020 Mazda Mazda3, including its long list of safety features (and growing list of awards), call or stop by our Dublin Mazda dealership. Meet with a member of our Dublin Mazda sales team and learn more about the 2020 Mazda lineup. Better yet, come by for a new Mazda test drive and experience the Mazda difference.